Nominations open for Delargey Awards 2010

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2010 Delargey Awards, which recognise significant and outstanding contributions to Catholic youth ministry in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The biannual Awards are sponsored by the New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference (NZCBC) and its Office for Young People, and are named in honour of Cardinal Reginald Delargey (1914-1979), renowned for his work with young Catholics in New Zealand.

The Awards recognise various components of youth ministry, including advocacy; justice and service; catechesis; leadership development; community life; pastoral care; evangelisation; prayer and worship.

Previous recipients of Delargey Awards are: 2008 – Kitty McKinley (Wellington) for justice and service; Susie Jorgensen (Dunedin) for pastoral care; Br John Paul Wilson fms (Auckland) for evangelisation. 2006 – Mary Bennett (Palmerston North) for catechesis; Philippa Pidd (Wellington) for advocacy; Raylene Dwyer rsm (Christchurch) for leadership development. 2004 – Gil Price (Auckland) for advocacy; Kevin and Helen Plant (Wellington) for leadership and development; Fr Peter Fahy (Palmerston North) for community life.

National Project Coordinator of the Office for Young People, Sr Helen O’Sullivan RNDM, says the Delargey Awards are an opportunity to “acknowledge those wonderful people in our parishes and dioceses who tirelessly give of themselves in so many different ways.”

“These people are living out the message of Jesus in their ministry to and support of young people in our church today,” she says. “The Delargey Awards are a way of recognising and celebrating this”.

More information and nomination forms are available on the website of the NZCBC Office for Young People

Nominations close Monday 1 November 2010.

Media ReleasesVacancy - Director Catholic Enquiry CentreMedia ContactBishops' StatementsPompallier's People - BlogNational Calendar