Four winners named in the 2022 Delargey Awards

Four people nominated for their outstanding work in Catholic youth ministry are winners in the 2022 Delargey Awards

The awards are named in honour of Cardinal Reginald Delargey (1914-79) who was noted for his tireless work for young Catholics. They are presented by the New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference every two years to recognise outstanding involvement in Catholic youth ministry.

The 2022 winners are:

• Janette Bradbrook and Mike Fidow (bottom two photos) of the Catholic Parish of Christchurch East, Catechesis category, for their remarkable commitment to building youth ministry in their parish and diocese.

• Peter Fuga (top right) of Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Onehunga, Auckland, in the Advocacy, Catechesis, Community Life, Evangelisation, Leadership Development and Prayer and Worship categories, for his limitless energy in providing opportunities and inspiration for young people.

• Michelle Schaare (top left) of the Catholic Parish of New Plymouth, Advocacy category, for her passion for the employment, support, and governance of youth ministers.

Bishop of Auckland Stephen Lowe, Secretary of the NZ Catholic Bishops Conference-Te Huinga o ngā Pīhopa Katorika o Aotearoa, says the nomination letters for the four winners spoke of their deep investment, leadership, faith and remarkable contributions to the young people of the Church in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Delargey Awards have been presented since 2004 to recognise long-term involvement in Catholic ministry with young people, to educate the community about ministry with young people, and to raise the profile of Catholic ministry with young people.

The award takes the form of a small trophy which will be presented to the winners.

Previous Delargey Award recipients with categories

2020: Antje Duda, Christchurch, Justice and Service; Susana Fiu-Fetalai, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Jennifer Martinez and Sam Mano, Auckland, Pastoral Care and Leadership Development; Dave Mullin, Palmerston North, Advocacy

2018: Delphina Soti, Auckland, Justice and Service; Pesamino Tili, Dunedin, Community Life

2014: Linda and Paul Darbyshire, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care; Norma Bellamy, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care.

2016: Anne and Andy Lovell, Wellington, Evangelization; Joanne Bell, Dunedin, Catechesis, Prayer and Worship; John Rogers, Wellington, Advocacy.

2012: Fr Mark Chamberlain, Dunedin, Community Life and Pastoral Care, Fr Frank Bird SM, Auckland, Leadership Development; Ron Allen, Palmerston North, Leadership Development and Community Life

2010: Br Doug Dawick FMS, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Tina Shore, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Michael O’Sullivan, Michael Buchanan, Kirsty Campbell, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care

2008: Kitty McKinley, Wellington, Justice and Service; Br John Paul Wilson FMS, Auckland, Evangelisation; Susie Jorgensen, Dunedin, Pastoral Care

2006: Mary Bennett, Palmerston North, Catechesis; Philippa Pidd, Wellington, Advocacy; Raylene Dwyer RSM, Christchurch, Leadership Development

2004: Gil Price, Auckland, Advocacy; Kevin and Helen Plant, Wellington, Leadership Development; Fr Peter Fahy, Palmerston North, Community Life

Each award indicates the component of ministry with young people in which the significant contribution is being recognised.

Go here to read a biography of Cardinal Delargey in PDF format.


Photos from top: Janette Bradbrook, Mike Fidow, Peter Fuga, Michelle Schaare.